We have expanded to Northeast Registries - Marlborough (formerly East Calgary Registry)

Reciprocal Countries

Reciprocal Countries

Canada has Reciprocal Licencing agreements with the the following countries:

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • France
  • Germany
  • Isle of Man
  • Japan
  • Netherlands
  • Northern Ireland
  • Republic of Ireland
  • Republic of Korea
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United States
  • United Kingdom 
  • All Canadian provinces & territories

Individuals coming from these countries are exempt from taking the knowledge and/or road test. The foreign licence may be directly exchanged for an Alberta licence.

Out of Country Licences - North East Registries Sunridge and Taradale Calgary Alberta
  • Foreign Drivers Licence: including the contents translated into English by an approved translator
  • Valid Photo ID
  • Proof of full name and date of birth
  • Legal status in Canada
  • Proof of Alberta address dated in last 90 days  
  • click here for more information
  • Vision Screening Test: administered in the office at the time of licence exchange